What are the councils that cover Redditch?

Many parts of England have 2 tiers of local government:

  • county councils (e.g. Worcestershire County Council)
  • district, borough or city councils (e.g. Redditch Borough Council)

Worcestershire County Council is a principal tier council, meaning it is slightly ‘higher’ than Redditch Borough Council, which is known as a ‘lower tier’ council.

In some parts of the country, there’s just 1 (unitary) tier of local government providing all the local services. The 3 main types are:

  • unitary authorities in shire areas (e.g. Herefordshire Council)
  • London boroughs (e.g. London Borough of Camden)
  • metropolitan boroughs (e.g. Coventry City Council)

County councils

These are responsible for services across the whole of a county, like:

  • education
  • transport
  • planning
  • fire and public safety
  • social care
  • libraries
  • waste management
  • trading standards

District, borough and city councils

These cover a smaller area than county councils. They’re usually responsible for services like:

  • rubbish collection
  • recycling
  • Council Tax collections
  • housing
  • planning applications